New Technologies Lab

Launching into the future with current technologies.

What can IoT do besides Siri, Alexa and Google Assistant?

Nowadays, everyone knows Siri, Alexa and Co, but what is behind the big picture of the Internet of Things (IoT – “Internet of Things”) besides funny voice assistants and smart light bulbs? For the time being, IoT only means that physical and virtual objects are linked and can communicate with each other. This offers great advantages, especially in industry, since, for example, the MQTT protocol (“Message Queuing Telemetry Transport”) can be used to collect large amounts of data from sensors and evaluate it in real time. In this way, problems can be quickly identified and solved. In addition to industry, IoT is also finding application in smart cities, where similar technologies are being used for intelligent lighting control, waste management, and parking optimization.

Apple products

Are you an Apple fan? So do we!

Apple products

As an Apple Authorized Training Centre, you will be taught Swift programming language by certified trainers at XU from the beginning of your studies. Swift is the foundation of any iOS app. And already in the first semester you will be able to implement a small app project. If you are a Windows or Linux user, you can use Mac devices from the university. If you already own Apple hardware, you can of course use it in class.

You can also use iPhones and Apple Watches to test the apps, so your app doesn’t just remain a prototype in the emulator, but is tangible in real life.

Lost in Space? Normality for us during the lunch break.

Man in VR

At three VR stations on campus, you can experience live what it means to dive into virtual reality. In the meantime, VR is no longer used for pure entertainment, but has found real-world applications. For example, buildings can be planned and inspected in 3D in advance. But VR can also be helpful in the training of doctors, for example. In addition, the police and military use VR to provide real-world impressions during training and improve training quality.

Besides these real-world applications, it’s also fun to fly over the world in Google Earth or put your sense of rhythm to the test in the gameBeat Saber.

Lost in Space? Normality for us during the lunch break.

At three VR stations on campus, you can experience live what it means to dive into virtual reality. In the meantime, VR is no longer used for pure entertainment, but has found real-world applications. For example, buildings can be planned and inspected in 3D in advance. But VR can also be helpful in the training of doctors, for example. In addition, the police and military use VR to provide real-world impressions during training and improve training quality.

Besides these real-world applications, it’s also fun to fly over the world in Google Earth or put your sense of rhythm to the test in the gameBeat Saber.

Man in VR

We are Industry 4.0 ready!

With the fourth generation of industry, industrial production is to be digitized and linked with current communication and information technologies. This includes, for example, the integration of modern machines, robots and sensors. However, the focus should be on the exchange of data in order to be able to optimize not only individual production steps but entire value chains.

At XU, you can gain your first experience controlling a modern robotic arm and get a sneak peak into the manufacturing processes of the future.

Robot Arm

We are Industry 4.0 ready!

Robot Arm

With the fourth generation of industry, industrial production is to be digitized and linked with current communication and information technologies. This includes, for example, the integration of modern machines, robots and sensors. However, the focus should be on the exchange of data in order to be able to optimize not only individual production steps but entire value chains.

At XU, you can gain your first experience controlling a modern robotic arm and get a sneak peak into the manufacturing processes of the future.

More than two dimensions are nothing new for you?

At XU, we mostly use our 3D printer for “rapid prototyping” and can get haptic results quickly. This has great advantages, especially in methods such as design thinking, because it allows you to approach the best possible solution step by step. By printing with multiple filaments, you can use multiple colors, or use water soluble filament to achieve even more complex shapes.

In addition to rapid prototyping, 3D printing is also used in completely different areas. Houses have already been built out of concrete with giant printers, or chocolate has been molded into the wildest shapes.

3D Printer

Are you interested in new technologies? Then apply today to study at XU.

Gottfried von Recum

Head of Development & new Technologies
Lecturer Coding & Software Engineering

New Technologies Lab

Mit aktuellen Technologien in die Zukunft starten.

Was kann IoT außer Siri, Alexa und Google Assistant?

Heutzutage kennt jeder Siri, Alexa und Co, doch was verbirgt sich hinter dem großen Bild des Internet of Things (IoT – „Internet der Dinge“) außer lustiger Sprachassistenten und smarten Glühbirnen? IoT bedeutet erstmal nur das physische und virtuelle Objekte verknüpft werden und miteinander kommunizieren können. Das bietet vor allem in der Industrie große Vorteile, da beispielsweise mit Hilfe des MQTT-Protokolls („Message Queuing Telemetry Transport“) große Datenmengen von Sensoren gesammelt und in Echtzeit ausgewertet werden können. So können Probleme schnell identifieziert und gelöst werden. Neben der Industrie findet IoT auch in Smart Cities Anwendung, in denen ähnliche Technologien zu intelligenten Lichtsteuerung, Abfallmanagement und Parkoptimierung genutzt werden.

Apple products

Du bist Apple Fan? Wir auch!

Apple products

Als Apple Authorized Training Centre wirst du an der XU von Beginn deines Studiums von zertifizierten Trainern in der Programmiersprache Swift unterrichtet. Swift ist die Grundlage einer jeden iOS App. Und bereits im ersten Semester wirst du so in der Lage sein ein kleines App-Projekt umzusetzen. Solltest du bisher Windows- oder Linux-Nutzer sein, kannst du Mac-Geräte der Uni verwenden. Solltest du bereits Apple Hardware besitzen, kannst du diese selbstverständlich im Unterricht benutzen.

Zum Testen der Apps kannst du außerdem auf iPhones und Apple Watches zurückzugreifen, sodass deine App nicht nur ein Prototyp im Emulator bleibt, sondern auch in Realität greifbar ist.

Lost in Space? Bei uns Normalität in der Mittagspause.

Man in VR

An drei VR-Stationen auf dem Campus kannst du live erfahren was es bedeutet in die virtuelle Realität abzutauchen. Mittlerweile dient VR auch nicht mehr der reinen Unterhaltung sondern hat reale Anwendungen gefunden. So können beispielsweise Gebäude vorab in 3D geplant und besichtigt werden. Aber auch in der Ausbildung von beispielsweise Ärzten kann VR hilfreich sein. Darüber hinaus verwenden Polizei und Militär VR um bereits während der Ausbildung reale Eindrücke zu vermitteln und die Trainingsqualität zu verbessern.

Neben diesen realen Anwendungen macht es aber auch einfach Spaß in Google Earth über die Welt zu fliegen oder sein Rhythmus Gefühl im Spiel Beat Saber auf die Probe zu stellen.

Lost in Space? Bei uns Normalität in der Mittagspause.

An drei VR-Stationen auf dem Campus kannst du live Erfahren was es bedeutet in die virtuelle Realität abzutauchen. Mittlerweile dient VR auch nicht mehr der reinen Unterhaltung sondern hat reale Anwendungen gefunden. So können beispielsweise Gebäude vorab in 3D geplant und besichtigt werden. Aber auch in der Ausbildung von beispielsweise Ärzten kann VR hilfreich sein. Darüber hinaus verwenden Polizei und Militär VR um bereits während der Ausbildung reale Eindrücke zu vermitteln und die Trainingsqualität zu verbessern.

Neben diesen realen Anwendungen macht es aber auch einfach Spaß in Google Earth über die Welt zu fliegen oder sein Rhythmus Gefühl im Spiel Beat Saber auf die Probe zu stellen.

Man in VR

Wir sind Industry 4.0 ready!

Mit der vierten Generation der Industrie soll die industrielle Produktion digitalisiert werden und mit aktuellen Kommunikations- und Informationstechnologien verknüpft werden. Dazu zählt beispielsweise die Integration von modernen Maschinen, Robotern und Sensoren. Im Vordergrund soll jedoch der Austausch von Daten stehen, um nicht nur einzelne Produktionsschritte sondern gesamte Wertschöpfungsketten optimieren zu können.

An der XU kannst du mit der Steuerung eines modernen Roboterarms erste Erfahrungen sammeln und einen Sneak Peak in die Fertigungsprozesse der Zukunft erhalten.

Robot Arm

Wir sind Industry 4.0 ready!

Robot Arm

Mit der vierten Generation der Industrie soll die industrielle Produktion digitalisiert werden und mit aktuellen Kommunikations- und Informationstechnologien verknüpft werden. Dazu zählt beispielsweise die Integration von modernen Maschinen, Robotern und Sensoren. Im Vordergrund soll jedoch der Austausch von Daten stehen, um nicht nur einzelne Produktionsschritte sondern gesamte Wertschöpfungsketten optimieren zu können.

An der XU kannst du mit der Steuerung eines modernen Roboterarms erste Erfahrungen sammeln und einen Sneak Peak in die Fertigungsprozesse der Zukunft erhalten.

Mehr als zwei Dimensionen sind für dich nichts Neues?

An der XU verwenden wir unseren 3D Drucker meist zum „rapid prototyping“ und können so schnell haptische Ergebnisse erzielen. Besonders in Methoden wie dem Design Thinking hat dies große Vorteile, da man sich so schrittweise einer möglichst optimalen Lösung nähern kann. Durch den Druck mit mehreren Filamenten kannst du mehrere Farben verwenden, oder wasserlösliches Filament verwenden um noch komplexere Formen zu erzielen.

Neben der schnellen Prototypisierung wird 3D-Druck auch in ganz anderen Bereichen eingesetzt. Es wurden bereits Häuser aus Beton mit riesigen Druckern gebaut oder Schokolade in die wildesten Formen gebracht.

3D Printer

Dein Interesse für New Technologies ist geweckt? Dann bewirb dich noch heute für ein Studium an der XU. 

Gottfried von Recum

Head of Development & new Technologies
Lecturer Coding & Software Engineering