FAQ

Is the XU Exponential University a distance learning university?

No, the XU Exponential University is a state-approved private university with a campus in Potsdam.

Are the degree programs attendance-based courses?

Degree programs at XU Exponential University are attendance-based studies that are supported by digital learning units.

How do the study courses differ in their content?

Our degree programmes cover all social and economic areas of digitalisation. Read more in the overview of Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes.

How is the XU dealing with the Covid-19 situation?

We currently offer our courses exclusively online to counteract possible chains of infection. As soon as the general situation eases, we will gradually return to our face-to-face events.

Is the campus closed during the Covid-19 situation?

No, the campus is open with reduced staff. However, please contact our Student Services if you would like to visit the campus. This way we can make sure that someone is on site or that the number of people is not too high on that day.

What stands out about studying at XU Exponential University?

At XU Exponential University, everything revolves around new technologies and digitalization and how your initial ideas can become the innovations of tomorrow. And above all, how we get your ideas off the ground together with you.

At the XU Exponential University, we provide practical training in skill areas that are indispensable to digital transformation. In light of this, we continuously adapt learning formats and course content to the latest developments and trends in the field of digitization and technology.

Your ongoing development is supported by regular practical projects with leading experts in the fields of technology and digitization from Europe, the USA and, particularly, China.

Instead of frontal teaching, we focus on interaction and flexible learning spaces in small groups – even outside the lecture hall. The focus of our study programs is applied project work, experimentation and prototyping. The Potsdam campus has been specially designed to enable learning and teaching outside the auditorium.

You are supported by our global expert network. At XU Exponential University, leading practitioners from business and start-ups as well as the best minds from technology, science and research teach. And, of course, this includes the members of the XU Friends Club.

For you, studying at XU Exponential University means access to first-hand knowledge and up-to-date market knowledge from experts. You are equipped with the skills that you will need for your career so that you can roll out your revolutionary ideas.

Small groups, an obligatory semester abroad (as part of the full-time bachelor’s programs) or International Summer Schools (as part of the part-time bachelor’s and master’s programs) at one of our partner universities are a set standard at XU Exponential University.

The same applies to the use of new digital methods and tools as well as the teaching of a solid, globally recognized fundamental education in key topics of business administration and the social sciences.

Overall, the individual support of the students at XU Exponential is of our utmost priority. We see ourselves as a team that includes all those on campus.

At which partner universities can students study abroad?

We are currently in collaboration with the following 6 universities:

  • Asia Pacific University, Malaysia
  • International College of Management, Australia
  • Cesine Santander University, Spain
  • EUSA Sevilla, Spain
  • Griffith College, Ireland
  • Berkeley College, New York
  • National University, San Diego
  • University North Carolina Wilmington, Wilmington
  • Vancouver Island University, Canada

We are currently in discussions with further universities in Australia, the USA, Italy, Ireland and Great Britain. You can find out more about the semester abroad here.

What's the job guarantee?

In short, students are entitled to a job guarantee. We guarantee and arrange at least one job interview for our students with an overall grade average of 2.5 or less. If we cannot fulfill this guarantee, we will refund 25% of the student’s tuition fees.

More detailed information can be found in the terms and conditions of the job guarantee.

Is it possible to study part-time at the XU Exponential University?

No, but we offer our StudyBeyond concept. The semester lasts 20 weeks. Here practice goes before theory: Our StudyBeyond concept allows you to combine your studies with your job. You’re going to be studying practice-oriented at the university while being able to work at least one working day a week. We do support you in making a living and moreover, give you the opportunity to immediately apply the knowledge you have acquired during your studies. On the days you spend studying, you will take part in exciting coaching sessions, guest lectures and webinars. You will be taught by professors and digital founders who will pass on their practical knowledge, expertise, and industry experience to you. This gives you the opportunity to benefit from our partner network and build your own network of industry professionals, which will make it easier for you to start your career.

Hoch much does it cost to study at XU Exponential University?

Bachlor’s degree programs:

Digital Business BSc in fulltime: 24.840 Euro (plus semester abroad)

Digital Marketing and Social Media BSc in fulltime: 24.840 Euro (plus semester abroad)

Coding and Software Engineering BSc in fulltime: 28.440 Euro (plus semester abroad)

Data Science BSc in fulltime: 28.440 Euro (plus semester abroad)

The fee for the semester abroad in the Bachelor’s degree programmes depends on the partner university and is assumed to be between 4,000 and 5,000 euros.

Master’s degree programs:

Digital Transformation Management MA in fulltime: 7.800 Euro

Data Science MSc in fulltime (in planning): 19.800 Euro

How can I finance my studies at XU Exponential University?

Because your future must not fail because of the financing of your studies, we offer various financing options. You can also find more tips, e.g. on the BaföG reform 2019, on our blog.

Until when can I apply?

An application for the respective winter semester is possible at any time, there is no explicit application deadline as at state universities.

For latecomers: At XU Exponential University, you can even enrol up to four weeks after the start of the semester. Please note that you have to prepare the corresponding curriculum on your own.

What are ECTS?

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) serves as a basis for the comparison of education systems and the recognition of credit points across European countries. One ECTS-Credit point is equivalent to an average workload of 30 hours. In addition to the courses, the workload also includes the time spent preparing for and following up on the courses, examinations and the time spent on self-study. ECTS points also form the basis for the recognition of study achievements and diplomas between higher education institutions.

FAQ

Ist die XU Exponential University eine Fernuni?

Nein, bei der XU Exponential University handelt es sich um eine staatlich anerkannte private Hochschule mit Campus in Potsdam.

Handelt es sich um ein Präsenzstudium?

Ein Studium an der XU Exponential University ist ein Präsenzstudium, das durch digitale Lerneinheiten unterstützt wird.

Wie unterscheiden sich die Studiengänge inhaltlich?

Unsere Studiengänge decken alle gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Bereiche der Digitalisierung ab. Lies mehr dazu in der Übersicht der Bachelor– und Masterstudiengänge.

Wie geht die XU mit der Covid-19 Situation um?

Wir bieten unsere Lehrveranstaltungen derzeit ausschließlich online an, um möglichen Infektionsketten entgegenzuwirken. Sobald sich die allgemeine Situation entspannt, werden wir sukzessiv zu unseren Präsenzveranstaltungen zurückkehren.

Ist der Campus während der Covid-19 Situation geschlossen?

Nein, der Campus ist mit reduzierter Mitarbeiterzahl geöffnet. Melde dich bitte dennoch bei unserem Studierendenservice, wenn du den Campus besuchen möchtest. Somit können wir sicherstellen, dass jemand vor Ort ist bzw. die Anzahl der Personen an diesem Tag nicht zu hoch ist.

Was zeichnet ein Studium an der XU Exponential University aus?

An der XU Exponential University dreht sich alles um Digitalisierung und neue Technologien und darum, wie aus ersten Ideen die Innovationen von morgen werden. Und vor allem, wie wir diese gemeinsam mit dir auf den Weg bringen.

An der XU Exponential University lernst du praxisnah die Kompetenzen, die im Rahmen der digitalen Transformation unabdingbar sind. Deshalb passen wir Studienformate und -inhalte kontinuierlich den neuesten Entwicklungen und Trends im Bereich Digitalisierung und Technologie an.

Dein fortwährender Kompetenzaufbau wird durch regelmäßige Praxisprojekte mit führenden internationalen Expert:innen in den Bereichen Digitalisierung und Technologie gefördert.

Statt Frontalunterricht erlebst du Interaktion und flexible Lernräume in kleinen Gruppen – auch außerhalb des Hörsaals. Im Vordergrund deines Studiums stehen praxisnahe Projektarbeit, Experimentieren und Prototyping. Der Campus in Potsdam ist eigens so konzipiert, dass Lernen und Lehren auch außerhalb des Seminarraums möglich ist.

Unterstützt wirst du durch unser globales Expert:innennetzwerk. An der XU Exponential University unterrichten führende Praktiker:innen aus Wirtschaft und Start-ups sowie die besten Köpfe aus Technik, Wissenschaft und Forschung. Natürlich auch vom XU Friends Club.

Studieren an der XU heißt für dich: Zugang zu Wissen und aktuellen Marktkenntnissen von Expert:innen aus erster Hand. Damit du genau das Rüstzeug bekommst, das du für deine Zukunft braucht. Und natürlich, damit deine revolutionären Ideen auf die Straße kommen.

Kleingruppen, ein Auslandssemester (im Rahmen des Bachelorstudiums) an einer unserer Partnerhochschulen sowie projektbasiertes Lernen gehören an der XU zum festen Standard.

Das gilt auch für den Einsatz neuer digitaler Methoden und Tools. Und ebenso für die Vermittlung einer soliden und weltweit anerkannten Grundausbildung in den betriebswirtschaftlichen und sozialwissenschaftlichen Kernthemen.

Insgesamt steht deine individuelle Betreuung bei der XU im Vordergrund.

An welchen Partnerhochschulen kann ich im Ausland studieren?

Gegenwärtig haben wir Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit folgenden sechs Universitäten geschlossen:

  • Asia Pacific University, Malaysia
  • Solbridge International School of Business, Südkorea
  • International College of Management, Australien
  • Cesine Santander University, Spanien
  • EUSA Sevilla, Spanien
  • Griffith College, Irland
  • Berkeley College, New York
  • National University, San Diego
  • University North Carolina Wilmington, Wilmington
  • Vancouver Island University, Kanada

Mit weiteren Universitäten in Australien, den USA, Italien, Irland und Großbritannien sind wir in Gesprächen. Mehr zum Auslandssemester findest du hier.

Was ist die Job-Garantie?

Kurz gesagt: Die Studierenden haben Anspruch auf eine Job-Garantie. Wir garantieren und vermitteln unseren Studierenden mit einem Gesamt-Notendurchschnitt bis maximal 2,5 mindestens ein Angebot für ein Bewerbungsgespräch. Sollten wir dir diese Garantie nicht einhalten können, erhältst du 25% deiner Studiengebühren erstattet.

Genaue Informationen sind in den AGB der Job-Garantie ersichtlich.

Kann ich in Teilzeit studieren?

Nein, aber wir bieten unser StudyBeyond Konzept an. Das Semester erstreckt sich über 20 Wochen. Hierbei geht Praxis vor Theorie: Unser StudyBeyond Konzept ermöglicht dir, dein Studium mit deinem Job zu verbinden. Du studierst praxisnah an der Hochschule und kannst nebenbei mindestens an einem Werktag arbeiten gehen. So unterstützen wir dich nicht nur, deinen Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten – du hast auch die Möglichkeit, im Studium erworbenes Wissen sofort einzusetzen. An den Tagen, die du mit deinem Studium verbringst, nimmst du an spannenden Coachings, Gastvorträgen und Webinaren teil. Unterrichtet wirst du dabei von Professor:innen und Digitalgründer:innen, die ihr Praxiswissen, ihre Expertise und Branchenerfahrung an dich weitergeben. Außerdem hast du die Möglichkeit von unserem Partnernetzwerk zu profitieren und ein eigenes Network von Branchenprofis aufzubauen, das dir einen späteren Jobeinstieg erleichtert.

Was kostet ein Studium an der XU Exponential University?

Bachelorstudiengänge:

Digital Business BSc in Vollzeit: 24.840 Euro (plus Auslandssemester)

Digital Marketing and Social Media BSc in Vollzeit: 24.840 Euro (plus Auslandssemester)

Coding and Software Engineering BSc in Vollzeit: 28.440 Euro (plus Auslandssemester)

Data Science BSc in Vollzeit: 28.440 Euro (plus Auslandssemester)

Das Entgelt für das Auslandssemester in den Bachelorstudiengängen ist von der Partnerhochschule abhängig und liegt nach Annahme zwischen 4.000 und 5.000 Euro.

Masterstudiengänge:

Digital Transformation Management MA in Vollzeit: 7.800 Euro

Data Science MSc in Vollzeit (in Planung): 19.800 Euro

Welche Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten gibt es?

Weil deine Zukunft nicht an der Finanzierung deines Studiums scheitern darf, bieten wir verschiedene Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten an. Weitere Tipps, z.B. zur BaföG-Reform 2019, findest du auch auf unserem Blog.

Bis wann kann ich mich bewerben?

Eine Bewerbung zum jeweiligen Wintersemester ist jederzeit möglich, eine explizite Bewerbungsfrist wie an staatlichen Hochschulen gibt es bei uns nicht.

Für Spätkommer: An der XU Exponential University kannst du dich sogar bis zu vier Wochen nach Semesterbeginn noch einschreiben. Bitte beachte, dass du den entsprechenden Lehrplan selbstständig aufarbeiten musst.

Was sind ETCS?

Das Europäisches System zur Übertragung und Akkumulierung von Studienleistungen (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System, ECTS) ist ein Instrument, das die Vergleichbarkeit von Studienleistungen innerhalb des europäischen Raumes gewährleistet. Ein ECTS-Punkt entspricht einem durchschnittlichen Arbeitsaufwand von 30 Stunden. Der Arbeitsaufwand beinhaltet neben den Lehrveranstaltungen auch die Zeiten für Vor- und Nachbereitung der Veranstaltungen, Prüfungen und die Zeit des Selbststudiums. ECTS-Punkte bilden ebenfalls die Grundlage für die Anerkennung von Studienleistungen und Diplomen zwischen Hochschulen.